Carbon Compounds


Custom Search


       Our solar system is composed of sun, eight planets and their moons and a large number of minor planets such as asteroids, comets and meteors which revolve around the sun. In the solar system, the sun is present at the centre and all the eight planets keep revolving around it in closed elliptical paths called orbits. These planets revolve around the sun due to gravitational force of attraction exerted by sun on these planets. The size of solar system is about 105 A.U.

Planets in our solar system:

       Our solar system consists of the sun and eight planets. The list of eight planets present in solar system is given as:

  1. Mercury

  2. Venus

  3. Earth

  4. Mars

  5. Jupiter

  6. Saturn

  7. Uranus

  8. Neptune

Solar system model:

Solar System

The relative position of the planets in the solar system

Test Your Understanding and Answer These Questions:

  1. What is solar system?

  2. What is the size of our solar system?

  3. What is the meaning of orbits?

  4. Name the planets present in our solar system?

Developers of Fun Science
Rajan Gupta Rajan Gupta
M.Sc, B.Ed. & LL.B.
Teacher, Author & Innovator
Rahul Jindal
Entrepreneur & Innovator
Rahul Jindal

Share your comments / feedback here.
Fun Science