Custom Search

Conservation of Wildlife

In 1948, the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) was set up. The main task of IUCN is conservation of wildlife and implementation of various environmental laws. The IUCN has made following categories of wild animals and plants:

1) Extinct Species

Extinct species are those species whose last organism has died i.e. which have disappeared from earth. Examples of extinct species are pink headed duck, mountain quail, lesser one horned rhino etc.

Extinct Species

2) Endangered Species

Endangered species are those species which are in danger of extinction. For example, Indian rhinoceros, Asiatic lion, crocodile, musk deer, blue whale etc. are endangered species.

Endangered Species

3) Vulnerable Species

Those species which have sufficient population at present but can become endangered species in future if unfavourable conditions persist in its environment. The main examples of vulnerable species are golden cat, Indian egg eating snake, olive ridley turtle etc.

Vulnerable Species

Test Your Understanding and Answer These Questions:

Developers of Fun Science
Rajan Gupta Rajan Gupta
M.Sc, B.Ed. & LL.B.
Teacher, Author & Innovator
Rahul Jindal
Entrepreneur & Innovator
Rahul Jindal

Share your comments / feedback here.
Fun Science